Union Sports Minister Kiran Rijiju on Tuesday gave the Arjuna Award to women cricketer Smriti Mandhana and tennis player Rohan Bopanna. The award was started in 1961. Specially competent players are rewarded with this award. The award carries a cash prize of Rs. 5,00,000 along with the symbolic statue and citation of Arjuna.

Let us know that memory is a big name for Indian women cricket. Women or men, they are the youngest Indian captain in T-20 International. Mandhana took over the captaincy of Team India at T-20 International in 22 years 229 days. He became the world’s number one ODI batsman in February this year.

Mandhana has been performing well in the ODIs since the beginning of 2018. Mandhana scored 669 runs in 12 ODIs and 622 runs in 25 T20 last year. At the same time, Rohan Bopanna, who won a gold medal in tennis male doubles in the Asian Games 2018, said that it is a matter of pride for me to identify as Arjuna Award winner. I am very happy to receive this award.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here